Publishing multiple versions to the same space without viewport

Comments

6 comments

  • Avatar
    Roman Serazhiev

    Hi Benjamin,

    it’s not possible to publish to a space with versions already activated. This means that when you publish to an existing space, the previous content will me replaced.

    Could you please share your use-case? What would you like to achieve with this?

    Roman.

  • Avatar
    Benjamin Eshet

    Sure.
    When publishing a new version of a user manual or release notes, i need the previous version to still be available.
    So i was thinking that by renaming the old one (adding the version number to the title) - it wouldn't be overwritten. And as i said earlier - publishing each version to a new space is just too much, it won't be manageable.

  • Avatar
    Henricus Fluthgraf

    It sounds like to have the same as you (K15t) offer in viewport.

    The same would be nice for me.

     

    Henry

  • Avatar
    Roman Serazhiev

    Hi Benjamin,

    this is currently only possible in combination with Viewport.

    Roman.

  • Avatar
    Benjamin Eshet

    i understand, but since viewport replaces the entire frontend, we can't use it.

    do you plan on enabling this in the future?

  • Avatar
    Roman Serazhiev

    Benjamin,

    there are no plans to implement such feature in the core Versions product. 

    The only other workaround i see is to make all readers reviewers, but this is not recommended because reviewers can see all versioned pages and transition pages through workflow statuses (if you are using this functionality).

    If you would like to try out this approach, remove all users from Reviewer role. Now all users with view permissions in the space are reviewers.

    Hope this helps.

    Roman.

     

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk