How do I make the author view the default view?

Comments

10 comments

  • Avatar
    Nils Bier
    Hi Prerena,

    Thanks for contacting us.
    This is currently not possible. You would need to publish within the same space to have content displayed in the public view.
    Another possibility would be to hide all versions but one in the version picker. All reviewers will then automatically see this single version.
    Your Authors and Doc-Admins can then set it up in their Scroll Settings to also show the hidden versions (see screenshot).
    Would that work for you?

    Best,
    Nils

  • Avatar
    Prerana Shah

    Thanks for the response Nils. But unfortunately, that does not help. I'll explain why.

    The background to the requirement is the issue that scroll version resolves and removes comments when published to the same space. in my organisation, we encourage and give a lot of importance to comments by our employees. And we don't want to lose them. If I publish to another space in our confluence, we as authors would have to track comments in 2 spaces. Plus, when I re-publish to that space, I would again lose the comments, right? 

    So the solution I considered was to give reviewer role to all (We are fine with that). But then not all understand the public view - author view concept. So people would see outdated or incomplete information by default and either not realise it or get frustrated. Having to switch manually to author view each time is pretty frustrated as well. Continuous training organisation wide for this is not practical. And hence, if we can make the author view default, it will solve our problem. 

    What solution do you suggest?  

    (For our customers, we use a public confluence and publish using the remote end point. We do not have an issue there since we do not enable comments on the public confluence)

  • Avatar
    Nils Bier

    Hi Prerena,

    Yes, inline comments are not preserved if you re-publish a changed page into an existing space (as the page content will be overwritten).

    However, normal page comments are still preserved. Would it be an option to not allow comments in your authoring space (and just use it as internal working space) and de-activate inline comments in your (public) target space?

    Another thing would be to change the text displayed in the public view bar (e.g. give a hint to switch to the author view). You can achieve this with the following script to be added to the custom HTML in the global administration:

    <script>
    AJS.toInit(function(){
      AJS.$('.sv-reader-view-label').text('Public View - The content you see might be outdated, please switch to the Author view and select the wanted version');
    });
    </script>

    That would display the text "Public View - The content you see might be outdated, please switch to the Author view and select the wanted version" in the Public View bar and your readers would have a visual help.

    Does that help?

    Best,
    Nils

  • Avatar
    Martin Kellner

    Both aspects "losing comments" and "not making the author view the default one" are also problematic for us. Not every comment gets resolved in the next version. Concerning the author view I have to explain it several times a week at the moment. Extending the text might help, but it is onla a workaround. Custom HTML has to be support and it might happen that it is removed when updating the system.

  • Avatar
    Felicity Chapman

    The Public view is a problem for us too - we'd like to be able to hide it from all users. The developers often make minor changes to the documentation as they update the behaviour of the code. They frequently edit or comment on the Public view instead of the correct version of the page in the Author view. I also spend lots of time explaining about the Author view - I've written a wiki topic on how to edit our documentation, but we still get lots of problems which the doc team then has to sort out.

    I imagine that all of your customers who publish to other spaces probably have problems with the current set up - they just haven't mentioned it.

    Please can you consider a feature request to be able to set a default version for a space, and then automatically display the page for that version when anyone uses a basic URL (which currently takes them to the author view, regardless of what they were looking at previously).

    Best wishes,

      Felicity

  • Avatar
    Nils Bier

    Hi Felicity,

    Thanks for your feedback. Do you know that you can restrict the edit in the public view? To do so, please go to the additional settings in the Scroll Versions administration and activate the checkbox "Restrict edit in Public View in this space."

    Would having a default version really help in your case, or would your users then simply make their changes in the default version (instead of the correct version) instead of the public view?
    Nevertheless, we have an open feature request here: https://k15t.jira.com/browse/VSN-1511 - I've added your feedback as an internal comment.
    We haven't yet had a closer look how we could achieve that from a technical point of view, and it's currently not on our roadmap.

    I've just updated another workaround on the following issue: https://k15t.jira.com/browse/VSN-2676 to make it more clear that a user is viewing the page in public view.
    When applying the workaround, the whole page is displayed with a light orange background if a page is opened in public view.

    Does that information help? If you have any further feedback, please let us know.

    Best,
    Nils

  • Avatar
    Felicity Chapman

    Hi Nils,

    Thanks for responding so quickly.

    We only usually have one "active" version at once, so a default version would help. However,I hadn't spotted the option to stop people editing the public view and your workaround sounds as if it might be helpful so I'll look into implementing it.

    Thanks for adding my vote to your internal issue.

    Best wishes,

       Felicity

  • Avatar
    Martin Kellner

    Hi Nils,

    I'm in this boat too ... I already comment the VSN-2676. Our use case is this one:

    • You have a space that is the workspace for a product documentation.
    • More or less often you want to take a snapshot of the space and publish this snapshot as PDF, HTML, Word or whatever.
    • Internally the work goes on in the same moment you push the publish button.
    • Internal users (developers, supporters,...) should see all the changes. These changes are not always coupled to new product versions but they contain important corrections, additions, examples, that are used internally until a new version is released.
    • Perhaps you could show a configurable remark which is opposite to the "public view": "This document has been published as pdf or whatever on xx.xx.xxxx. So other users might view an older version of the document. <link to view published version(s)>"
    • Often (our) internal users don't want to see the public view in the first step. We already restricted the editing. So, the problem is no longer editing the published version (which was a great problem in the past before the option to restrict it). The problem is the outdated information for internal users.

    When we started using Scroll Version, we started publishing to the same space ... so this discussion should also cover publishing to the same space.

  • Avatar
    gustaf.gunnarsson

     

    For us the Public View is in the way so we have disabled it by forcefully reloading to Author View when Public View shows up using some Javascript (which I am sure could be written more elegantly).

    FWIW:

    CONFLUENCE ADMINISTRATION -> General Configuration -> Custom HTML -> At the end of BODY:
    <script>
    $(document).ready(function(){if(document.getElementById('sv-scmtb-misc-disable-readonlyview')){ document.getElementById('sv-scmtb-misc-disable-readonlyview').click();}});
    </script>

  • Avatar
    Nils Bier

    Hi Gustaf,

    Thanks for sharing this - I've added it as a workaround to the improvement - in combination with workaround #1 mentioned in the issue and the restriction of the edit in public view that seems to be a powerful workaround.

    Best,
    Nils

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk