Workflow with intermediate releases

Comments

3 comments

  • Avatar
    Peter Bastian

    Hi Christina,

     

    the 'preceding version' functionality doesn't quite work that way. 

    When a new version is created with a preceding version, there are actually no pages created. When a page of the new version is shown, that hasn't been edited in the actual version yet, the content of the page in the preceding version is shown ('fallback'). 
    As soon as the page gets edited in the actual version, a page is created for this version with the content of the preceding version. From now on, the two pages are independent of each other. That means that if the page in the preceding version gets changed, the actual page doesn't get touched at all.

    So the preceding version functionality only considers whole pages, not the content.

    That's why the changes of your version 1.5 aren't taken over to version 2.0, when the page already has been edited, because the two pages are independent of each other.

    I hope this helps to clarify this issue. If you have any further questions, feel free to ask.

     

    Cheers,
    Peter

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Christina Force

    Thanks Peter -  So this means once a page has been edited, if changes are needed to any earlier versions of that page, the earlier version change needs to be copied and pasted into each later page version separately, correct?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Peter Bastian

    Hi Christina,

    yes, that's correct. Once a new versioned page is created the page does not fall back to a previous version.

    Cheers,
    Peter

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk